We're happy to answer your questions, in person, or by email.

Please use the form below and we'll get back to you within 24 hours.

(Just so we know you're a real person)

Please see our Data Protection Policy and Data Protection Notice.

AZERBAIJAN – New Online Visa System Imminent

Effective 10 January 2017, the State Agency on Public Services and Social Innovations (ASAN Centres) will begin to process electronic visitor visas through the new “ASAN Viza” system.

How does the ASAN Viza system work?

The e-visa will be issued for a period of stay of 30 days. Foreign nationals can apply for a new e-visa only from outside Azerbaijan. The expiry date of the applicant’s passport or other travel document should be at least three months later than the expiry date of the e-visa.

The applicant must submit certain information via the new Asan Viza web portal. An e-visa will be issued within three business days, so an e-visa application should be submitted at least three working days before the planned date of travel to Azerbaijan. The consular fee for the e-visa will be USD 20. Notification about issuance or cancellation of the e-visa will be sent to the applicant’s e-mail address. Once issued, the e-visa should be printed by the applicant and presented together with the passport (but not attached) at the point of entry.

Foreign nationals staying in Azerbaijan for more than ten days should register with the State Migration Service of the Republic of Azerbaijan online or in person at regional migration departments within ten days of arriving in the country.

Who qualifies?

E-visas will be issued only to nationals of countries listed here:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See (Vatican), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vietnam.

Action Items

  • Qualifying nationals should take advantage of the new online visa application facility to avoid visiting a consulate when applying for a visitor visa for Azerbaijan.

This news alert was prepared using information provided by CABC Global.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this immigration alert has been abridged from laws, court decisions, and administrative rulings and should not be construed or relied upon as legal advice. If you have specific questions regarding the applicability of this information, please contact Peregrine © 2021 Peregrine Immigration Management Ltd.