We're happy to answer your questions, in person, or by email.

Please use the form below and we'll get back to you within 24 hours.

(Just so we know you're a real person)

Please see our Data Protection Policy and Data Protection Notice.

INDONESIA – Changes to the Restricted Nationals List

Effective 25 August 2017, the Minister of Law and Human Rights issued a new regulation for restricted nationals.

The new regulation updates the list of countries whose nationals must undergo additional vetting to enter and work in Indonesia.

Who is affected?

Nationals of Albania, Angola, Bangladesh, Cuba, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iraq, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania and Togo have all been removed from the restricted nationals list, and can now apply for visas and work authorisation without having to undergo extra vetting or supply additional justification.

Nationals of Guinea, Liberia and Niger have been added to the list, alongside nationals of countries which were previously on the list.

The full list of restricted nationals is now:

Afghanistan, Cameroon, Guinea, Israel, Liberia, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia.

Action Items

  • Employers of restricted nationals should be aware that visa and work authorization applications may take much longer and approvals may be very difficult to obtain.
  • Employers of nationals of countries which have been removed from the restricted list can expect much easier visa and work authorization processes.

This news alert was prepared using information provided by PNB Law Firm.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this immigration alert has been abridged from laws, court decisions, and administrative rulings and should not be construed or relied upon as legal advice. If you have specific questions regarding the applicability of this information, please contact Peregrine © 2021 Peregrine Immigration Management Ltd.