We're happy to answer your questions, in person, or by email.

Please use the form below and we'll get back to you within 24 hours.

(Just so we know you're a real person)

Please see our Data Protection Policy and Data Protection Notice.

NORWAY - No Work and Residence Permits Needed for Croatians

Croatian nationals no longer need to apply for residence permits to work, study or live in Norway as Croatia officially became a part of the European Economic Area (EEA) area on 11 April 2014.

Croatian nationals are now only required to register through the registration scheme for EU/EEA nationals if they wish to stay in Norway for more than three months.

What Has Changed?

Croatian nationals previously required a work and residence permit issued by the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI) in Norway to work and live in the country. Following Croatia’s full accession to the EEA last month, Norway has eliminated residency application requirements for Croatian nationals.

Any Croatian nationals with family members who are citizens of a country outside the EU/EEA, can now also apply for a residence card for family members of EU/EEA nationals.

What is the European Economic Area?

The European Economic Area (EEA) unites the 28 European Union (EU) Member States (Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK) and the three EEA/EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway).


The Agreement on the participation of the Republic of Croatia in the European Economic Area and three related agreements were signed on 11 April 2014 and were applied on a provisional basis as of 12 April 2014 pending their entry into force.

Note that individual EU and EEA countries may choose to maintain certain restrictions on labour immigration from Croatia for an initial period of two years. This period may be extended at a later date for a further five years under certain specific conditions.

The Norwegian government has decided not to make use of its right to limit labour immigration from Croatia at present as it is a small country and the level of labour migration from Croatia to Norway is expected to be low. However, if this turns out not to be the case, the Norwegian Government is able to introduce restrictions at a later date within the transition period of maximum seven years, in accordance with the provisions of the enlargement agreement.

Current Residence Permit Holders

Croatian nationals who already have a residence permit in Norway must register as EU/EEA nationals when their current residence permit expires.

Action Items

  • Note that Croatian nationals now no longer need work and residence permits for Norway.

This news alert was prepared using information from the UDI, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway and Oslo Relocation.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this immigration alert has been abridged from laws, court decisions, and administrative rulings and should not be construed or relied upon as legal advice. If you have specific questions regarding the applicability of this information, please contact Peregrine © 2021 Peregrine Immigration Management Ltd.